Home » Uncategorized » MY 500 MILE CAMINO WALK; I MADE IT….HAPPY FEET… ECSTATIC HEART!

MY 500 MILE CAMINO WALK; I MADE IT….HAPPY FEET… ECSTATIC HEART!

The end of my 500 mile journey...or is it the beginning?

The end of my 500 mile journey…or is it the beginning?

WOW… what an extraordinary experience in my life! The Camino de Santiago is known to produce miracles in your life, and that it did. So much to tell you!

After 56 days of walking and putting on over 500 miles on my shoes, I took my final step in Santiago, Spain.  I did walk every inch of the way, carrying my overweight back pack every step.

Mile marker '00' at the light tower, the end of the Camino in Fisterra

Mile marker ’00’ at the light tower, the end of the Camino in Fisterra

I set out with several goals, to save a child’s life in Kenya and to prove that even today people have the compassion to help another in need just as the pilgrims did thousands of years ago. I was right, although I walked with almost no money for food; the pilgrim’s and the people of Spain were more than generous to feed me, not even knowing what my mission was. Yes, there were many nights, I went to bed hungry, but I did not starve.

I meet over a thousand people from 27 countries all which had their own Camino experience. No one can do this wrong! You do not have to walk the whole Camino to get enlightened about new options that are available in life.

I took over 4,000 photos and video plus recorded every day what I and others were going through, all coming in the next year.

Santiago Cathedral, Spain

Santiago Cathedral, Spain

WHAT WAS MY LESSON?

OHH… so many, here are a few. One day as I was walking on an alternate route, I was sure I was on the wrong road, no people, cars or anything beautiful to look at. I ran out of water, and my shoulders were killing me because of my overweight backpack.

Suddenly, I was surrounded by butterflies; it forced me to; not only look at the butterflies but to see the beauty in the artistic design on their wings. It made me think; all this did not just happen; everything has its purpose. So I asked myself “WHY AM I HERE?”  I got my answer!

Our creator put us all here to enjoy life and be happy, if I am not, I am doing something wrong! This does not mean that I will not experience pain; I had many days of that, but, what it does mean, I can be at peace through the good and bad. Having pain is not always my choice but being at peace is! By helping another in need, if only sharing my own life, does give me the peace I have been seeking.

So I have learned the difference between pleasure and joy. Pleasure is external, joy comes from within. Pain, whether psychical or mental is not bad, it can tell me something is right or wrong. However, suffering is always my choice, just as being at peace is. This journey has taught me this difference and most important, for me to know if my thoughts are coming from my head or my heart.

ca a4


My lesson in a sentence is
I am “WE”; which includes YOU and our God whoever it may be. When I changed the word, from “I” to “WE” it deflated my ego and then realized that there is nothing we cannot do, but so much I can’t.

During my walk, there were many times when I couldn’t make it one more step, but when I started to use the “WE” word my backpack got lighter, and a new energy came over me. That brought me to the moment, and I chose (it was always my choice) to be at total peace. You were with me every step of the way. Although there were times, I had to look for you, but, you were always there!

 

In the coming weeks I will be sharing some of the many stories that happened to me and others on the Camino. This was “NOT” a walk in the park! This by far has been the most difficult challenge I have had in my life; however, it has brought me rewards I never dreamt possible!  Love, Jim

As the tradition goes; you burn some of your clothing at the end...good bye underwear!

As the tradition goes; you burn some of your clothing at the end…good bye underwear!

22 Comments

  1. Jim P says:

    Good for you. See you soon and will give you a proper welcome home.

  2. seeker says:

    Jim the man, am I ever glad to see you. I thought you will be posting along the way. As for the butterfly, that is just magical. I will be going soon in October, but not for the whole walk. I must share our experience to the blogging world. Bless your feet. 😛

    • Hi Seeker, I’m so excited your going to make the journey. Miracles will happen when you don’t expect them! You do not have to do the whole Camino to get the gifts it offers, so don’t worry, you will be happy. Oh… a little pain may be added in their but even that; is a lesson in disguise!

  3. seeker says:

    Reblogged this on theseeker and commented:
    So I have learned the difference between pleasure and joy. Pleasure is external, joy comes from within. Pain, whether psychical or mental is not bad, it can tell me something is right or wrong. However, suffering is always my choice, just as being at peace is. This journey has taught me this difference and most important, for me to know if my thoughts are coming from my head or my heart.

  4. Wow! Good for you. Looks like an amazing journey. Looks like something I’d like to do at some point.

  5. Thanks Seeker, get ready for an experience of a lifetime! Your life will change forever on the Camino.

  6. G’day WHAT an AWESOME experience this it, true!
    Seems like it has and will be life changing too!
    Cheers! Joanne
    http://www.facebook.com/whatsonthelist

  7. Ramon van der Burgt says:

    I was so emotional near the end in Finisterra, I never even saw the 0,0 marker there. 🙂

  8. hmmmm…Rosie at Wondering Rose walked the Camino in June ’12. She’s on my blog roll.

  9. Inspiring Post Jim….

  10. Just saw reblog at Seeker’s. Wow and bravo to you!!

  11. Theresa says:

    Congratulations! What you have done is inspiring and so far beyond beautiful for your soul… All that we seek is within; my blessings.

  12. shellahudaya says:

    Inspiring post. Congratulations! ^^

  13. […] Globe   99 Ways to be Kind   Lahija Decaf   Edwin Colonpagan   Journey to Happy Many Paths   Jim’s Camino de Santiago   Bonaventure   Belsbror   Liberty of Thinking         […]

  14. Maureen says:

    I’m interested in the pilgrimage in the future, any info you give me would very much be appreciated

  15. Jim haugen says:

    Going past the pain takes discipline most guys our age can’t take it and think they can’t make it I’m glad you steped out of your comfort zone and did what the nay Sayers would say is impossible .your a neat guy Jim follow your dreams we all love you and thanks for having all of us with you every step of the way

  16. I am so looking forward to reading more of your experiences. It sounds like this experience was full of deep lessons for you, as it is for all the others I’ve heard from.

Leave a Reply

